For more information about PG courses please Contact Us

Toll Free - 1800 120 8696
Helpline - +91 90360 20005/16/24/36


University of Mysore - Mysore

The University of Mysore is a public state university located in Mysore, Karnataka, India. The University was founded during the reign of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, the Maharaja of Mysore. The university opened on 27 July 1916, with the first chancellor being the Maharaja of Mysore and the first Vice Chancellor being H. V. Nanjundaiah. The University became the first outside the domain of the English administration in India, the sixth University in India as a whole, and the first ever University in Karnataka. It is a state University of the affiliating type, and became autonomous on 3 March 1956, when it gained recognition from the University Grants Commission.

The University encompasses 122 affiliated colleges and five constituent colleges (forming an aggregate of 53,000 students). In addition, the University has 37 postgraduate departments, eight specialised research and training centres and two postgraduate centres that together offer about 55 regular academic programmes to 3,500 students. It also runs a number of employment-oriented diploma courses and certificate programmes.

The Mysore University Library comprises over 800,000 books, 2,400 journal titles and 100,000 volumes of journals. The main campus features an amphitheater, an auditorium, a swimming pool, and hostel accommodation for men and women. As of July 2013, the University of Mysore was accredited "Grade A" by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), [1] while its academic staff was ranked amongst the top 5 across India.

The main campus of the University, created in 1960, lies to the west of the Kukkarahalli Lake. The University headquarters, the Crawford Hall, is located across the lake to the east. The main campus was given the name "Manasagangotri" (which means the fountainhead of the Ganges of the Mind) by the poet-laureate, Dr. K.V.Puttappa (Kuvempu). Two satellite campuses have since been set up in response to the demands of postgraduate education from semi-urban/rural areas: Sir M.Visveswaraya Postgraduate Centre at Tubinakere in Mandya, and the Mysore University Postgraduate Centre at Hemagangotri in Hassan.

At the University of Mysore's founding, the entire princely state of Mysore came under its jurisdiction. Now this is confined to the Mysore, Mandya, Hassan, and Chamarajanagar districts with the remaining areas falling under the remit of Bangalore University (1986), Mangalore University (1980), and Kuvempu University (1987). In 1996, the Institute for Correspondence Courses and Continuing Education in the Manasagangotri campus was separated from the University of Mysore to form the Karnataka State Open University.

year started:


Location :

JLB Road, Mysore, Karnataka 570005

our partner sites

© 2016. Bangalore Study. All Rights Reserved

Designed by Dotline